3 Ways A To-do List Improved my Productivity

3 Ways A To-do List Improved my Productivity

At the beginning of a new year, it is not uncommon to know everyone seems to set a resolution or theme. At least, I was not left behind. I planned to maintain sound mental health by decluttering (both my internal and external spaces). I also wanted to imbibe a new habit of Journaling and keeping a To-do list.

So today, I want to discuss the 3 ways a to-do list improved my productivity and why you should keep one.

What is a To-Do List?

3327597.jpg An image from freepik.com

According to Wiktionary, a To-Do-List is a list of errands and other tasks–often written on a piece of paper as a memory aid–that one needs or intends to accomplish.

From the above definition, a to-do-list is written on a piece of paper that acts as a memory aid, keeps you organized amongst others. It is also called a schedule, timetable, docket, or calendar. At first, I used to write on any book I found. But, that did not make much difference in my head. I finally made use of sticker notes and it has been helpful.

You may wonder why a developer needs a to-do list. It is important to note that keeping one is not restricted to a set of people or careers. It is for everybody that has something to do. Studies have shown that people perform better when they have written what they need to do.

Why should you keep a To-do-list?

Having a list of everything you need to do written in one place means you should forget nothing important.

1. Organization

33079.jpg An image from freepik.com

One of the most important reasons for that is, it helps you stay organized. When you write all your tasks on a list, they seem more manageable. When you have a clear outline of the workloads to do and those you have completed, it helps you stay focused, while freeing up space in your mind for other more creative tasks.

Freeing up my mental space was ideal. While using a book (I called it a journal), it felt like my brain was clouded. There was no way I could make well-thought decisions. But it felt different with a sticker note to-do list. Looking up to my self-curated board with sticker notes feels good.

2. Improves Memory

brain-writes-with-white-chalk-is-on-hand-draw-concept.jpg An image from freepik.com

Another reason is it improves your memory. Keeping a to-do list would enable you to keep track of everything, rather than just a few of the tasks you need to do. Yeah, I think my habit of forgetfulness has been cured to an extent.

3. Time management

4867780.jpg An image from freepik.com

It also improves your time management skill. In the order of priority, you have started necessary tasks with a deadline set for them. It makes your work faster and easier to do. Time management enables you to work smarter with the help of a to-do list.

This concept was something I struggled with in the past. I think I'm good now. I don't even write my tasks based on priority but I make resourceful use of my time these days.

Bonus tip

Productivity

471756-PGCZC5-235.jpg t’s easy to say, “I want to pass my examinations.” Listing the steps you intend to take to accomplish a goal can help clarify your thoughts and give you achievable short-term goals. As you succeed at each step along the way, you will gain confidence by ticking those items off your list.

Keeping a to-do list has helped me attain a level of satisfaction. The feeling of completing 70-80% of your tasks for the day is surreal. Yes, I exaggerate a lot (inserts a laughing emoji). But on a serious note, we all know what it feels like when you are stagnant. Or when you are stuck on a project without completing the other tasks listed. It can be frustrating. As a law student engaged in other aspects of life, I tend to be overwhelmed with completing my tasks and keeping a straight head. I used to feel my mind split into several places. There was basically no focus.

Here is how I keep mine:

IMG-9304_edited.jpg

At the beginning of the year, I bought a pack of sticker notes from the store. I placed a white A4 paper on my wall right in front of my workspace. Each day, after completing my morning razzmatazz, I write down tasks on my sticker notes. I do not even write them in the order of priority; my brain is there to sort that out. I paste them on the white paper because it would not stay on the wall. After completing each task, I tick them off with my red pen as per done and dusted. Note this: I do not complete all the tasks I write on my list. You can't possibly get to the bottom of it. There would e definitely something that is not done.

So what happens?

The following morning, I write the pending or incomplete tasks then ensure I complete them. I executed this habit last week, and it has helped me balance my Law and Tech lifestyle, though not 100 percent. It is still overwhelming to multitask, but we what? We meuvvve.

I have finally come to the end of today's TedWriteup. Watch out for the Tips and Benefits of keeping a To-do list in my subsequent articles.